Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Another Fire

This afternoon another fire started in the foothills northwest of Boulder, about 15 miles from home.  I got a news flash on my phone at about 2:30 so I went out on the deck and saw the scary smoke plume in my first extra.  It was just coming over the house.  We drove northeast to higher ground for a better view.  My second extra and main blip were taken from there, looking back over Longmont and toward Boulder.  The third extra was taken about 3:30 when we got back home.  The smoke was so thick that street lights were on and the sky was an eerie orange.  The last extra was sent to me at about 8 pm by a friend in Longmont who has a view of the foothills.  The fire has already burned about 10 square miles.  The big fire north of us continued to grow today as well.  So very sad :'(

Don't forget that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Please click on this link to help fund mammograms for people who can't afford them. It's free and just takes a minute!

My heart goes out to all the people who have been displaced by the fires and I continue to be grateful to all the firefighters.             

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.