New reality day 83

There it is.

The white stuff we call LUMI in Finnish.

Lumi is an ancient heritage word, and has equivalents in many Uralic lineages all the way to Samoyed languages. We have a lot of words that mean different kinds of snow. There's wet snow, snow you can walk on without sinking down, snow that you can or can't make balls and snowmen of, words that describe how the snow is formed, how it's coming down (what kind of form) and at least the marks on a snow (made by reindeer or skies).

The snow was gone by 1 pm. And there wasn't much to start with. This does not qualify as first snow. The first snow is official when at 9 am there's 1cm of snow at official measuring stations. So we are still waiting for that to happen.

Some house chores today. Also some sewing. My good (the only if not counting the white pair which are impossible to wear this time of year) pair of "training pants" that also are waterproof were so broken from the leg us, that I cut the legs and attached them on to a pair of shorts and presto, I have a useful pair of pants for cycling. I also started a dyeing procedure. I can wash them tomorrow and will see how I did.

My in-laws came to visit while driving down to Helsinki and brought some wood for us to burn in the fireplace. (Fantastic!) They also brought winter tires for the car we a loaning from them. (Even better!)

That's basically my day so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.