Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Afternoon light

This morning I met a friend for a walk in the woods, and afterwards we went to our local coffee shop for a cappuccino. Now that our area is under Tier 2 and we cannot meet people from other households indoors, all the restaurants and cafes in this area have been quick to cover up outdoor areas and often with outdoor heating (not great for the environment, but then the entire lockdown situation has meant two steps back for the environment with all that extra packaging from deliveries and disposable cups and containers from take away foods and drinks) We were able to sit outside under a newly constructed covered pergola, and besides, today was very mild so being outdoors did not matter.

After that I went to the supermarket and got some groceries and collected a John Lewis order at the same time - I love this click and collect system and never go to the shops anymore other than the supermarket.

Xena got another walk in the woods this afternoon when the light was lovely coming through the trees - this is my photo today.

I had a list of things to do today, one item was to work on some images for the camera club competitions so I always have some ready. Last night the competition was again very interesting, I found the judge much harsher this time although I scored fine. He seemed to like the dehaze slider and missed the point of some images that were purposefully subtle.

This rest of the afternoon was spent ordering my new phone. I usually upgrade my phone when my contract runs out, but I did not do this when the contract expired 2 years ago as my boys advised me to wait for the new 5G phone. I should have ordered it a week ago when Apple announced the new models and so doing it today means I have to wait for 3 weeks, which is not a problem. Luke helped me order the right model with the right specifications - he was on the phone while I was placing the order - and he also advised me a clever way to structure my contract which saved me so much money, thanks Luke! 

As that took all afternoon my to do list has not got much shorter...and I have zoom meetings three evenings this week which also is rather time consuming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.