Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Autumn reflections

I went to bed feeling much better last night so I was annoyed to wake up at 4am and have a coughing fit that lasted about an hour. I finally fell asleep again at about 6.30am when Gavin left for work, but woke up with my alarm going off at 7am - not a good start to the day!

Nothing better than a walk in fresh air when you are feeling tired, so Xena and I had a good long walk this morning, and I had fun taking photos of the autumn colours coming in and more fungi. I liked the reflections on the pond, it was looking good until a Labrador jumped in to swim and ruined the moment! On the way back from the walk I stopped off at the pharmacy and got some dry tickly cough medicine for tonight. I also did a Covid test just to be sure but it was negative as I expected.

I have had a lazy day at home as I am not feeling that energetic. I finished my book, the Booker shortlisted novel Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead, about a fictional female aviator who flies the great circle circumnavigating the world - it spans decades and is a wonderful adventure through the history of the time. 

Covid cases are rising again in the UK, there is pressure on the government to bring back social distancing rules again, which would make sense. I think it is going to be another miserable winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.