Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Firsts

I met up with my birder friends for walk this morning along a wetlands area that is usually fruitful.  And it didn't disappoint.  I saw my first-ever Evening Grosbeak (bird), a late-season scarlet tanager, forty other bird species, a half dozen butterflies, wasps, bees, a blister beetle...and this teeny tiny northern brown snake, which was another first for me.  We actually saw three of these tiny serpents with the first one being only maybe 5 inches long, almost like a large earth worm.  This one was the largest, maybe 8-9 inches.  Although this isn't a great photo, it gives you good perspective as to the size of the wee snake.  Apparently they are fairly common so I'm surprised I've never seen one before. 

We spent about 4 hours out on the trail, covering some 3 miles.  When we started, it was drizzling but eventually the sun came out and it ended up being a really nice day.  

I wish I'd been able to get better photos of the grosbeaks as they are beautiful birds - however, they were up high in the trees, against a bleak gray sky with backlighting - no ideal for photos.  I will, however, put one very substandard image in Extra in case you'd like to see it.  Now that I know they are in the area, I will be keeping a sharp eye out at my feeders - that would be a great bird to add to my yard list!

I think I will take the kayak out tomorrow - taking advantage of the beautiful weather.  

safe...sane...kind...loving...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.