Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Colombia - Day 8

This strange looking creature has an even stranger name - the Andean Cock of the Rock.  They are largish birds that gather in leks where the males perform to attract a female.  And although this is not yet the breeding season, the males practice their songs and moves all year.  The adult males (which this one is) show the immature males how to perform, knowing that the young males won't be able to attract a mate for the first year or so.  It is fascinating behavior and I was lucky to see 7 or 8 males performing this afternoon.  This isn't a great image because I needed to shoot a very high ISO, low shutter speed, and hand held.  But it captures the moment in time that I want to remember.  And it give you a look at a creature who looks as if it might have been designed by Disney.

Our day started at 5:30 this morning when we piled onto our van to make what was to have been a six-hour drive to this lovely town of Jardine.  Road construction delays made the trip more like 8 hours, but what can you do?  

After several hours of shooting at the lek, we checked into our lodge and headed out to a local Italian food restaurant for a delicious meal.  I wouldn't mind if we went back to the same place tomorrow because the food was delicious.  

Not a bite of chocolate has passed my lips...I will make up for lost time when I get home.

Thank you again for all the love during my Columbian Adventure.  I can't believe there are only 3 days left...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.