The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

All the Pretty Little Horses


Hush-you-bye, don't you cry
Go to sleep you little baby,
When you wake you shall have,
All the pretty little horses.
Blacks and Bays, Dapples and Grays,
Coach and six a little horses.


We always said we wanted to go but for one reason or another we never did. Until today. This afternoon Connie and I drove to Weirsdale to see the Golden Oaks Classic: Pleasure Driving Competition and Exhibition. I've seen racing and pulling, thoroughbreds and trotters, show horses and jumpers, but I'd never seen a driving competition before.

I think I'm in love.

I was fascinated with the different classes of competition, the rules, the carriages, the costuming, and most of all, these magnificent animals.

I literally took over two hundred photographs and would like to have posted them all. As it was I had to narrow it down to twenty or so for my flicker page (see here) and chose this pic as my blip because, though no one image could do the day justice, it did a fair to middling job of trying.

Believe me I'll never miss the opportunity to see another driving competition again .... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.