An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Make it stop...

Even Lola's eyes glaze over when D is giving her a hole by hole account of his round of golf!

D and pals were supposed to be playing golf locally today but heavy rain overnight meant the course was closed.  A quick confab with the guys and they played at Keith's course instead.  

Busy morning here with my Tesco delivery arriving just after 9am (all present and correct - yay!) 

A short while later the engineer to service the ceiling hoists in Alan's bedroom and pool changing room as well as the portable hoist, arrived.  That's them officially checked and calibrated for the next six months.  

He was just getting ready to leave when the wheelchair engineer arrived to fit a new side panel to Alan's power chair, as well as fix a problem with the base.  All sorted now .

In other news, I have a bit of a dilemma.  

I have an upper left molar that consists of 80% filling and 20% tooth.  The filling crumbles every six months or so and the tooth is so delicate the dentist won't drill it and instead fills it with a special substance that usually sees me through the next six months.  

During lockdown my filling crumbled but there was nothing I could do about it as dentists were not seeing patients.  Fortunately there is no pain associate with this tooth.

I have been nursing it carefully ever since and was just about to make an appointment with my dentist when the central belt was put into lockdown (I haven't changed dentist since we moved house in 2012 because I've been a patient at my practice for 40 years and like them)  I thought I would just have to ride it out till this lockdown ends, but this evening another part of the tooth crumbled and not there's only a small bit of filling and the tiniest bit of tooth left.  I think an extraction will be my only option.

I will phone the dentist tomorrow but given the recent restrictions I am not sure if they will see me or not.  I am dreading the last bit of tooth / filling falling out incase it exposes the nerve but by the same token, I am also not looking forward to visiting my dental practice, which is within a very busy health centre, in the middle of a covid hot spot.

And in other, even more depressing news, our National Clinical Director, Jason Leitch announced there was "absolutely no question" of a "normal" Christmas being allowed" :-(  


One tiny crumb of comfort he offered was that measures could be eased if case numbers fall, but ultimitely people should "get their digital Christmas ready."  :-(
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.