Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

I had a bit of an early start this morning: up before six, and after turning on the espresso machine (ensuring hot coffees on my return) out for a run. I'm rather pleased, as I knocked over 11 km in an hour, buring 1,000 calories before breakfast. - While the calorie burn isn't the main thing, I do think it's a bit impressive, and thus worthy of mention. ;-) I have a desire to run from home to Faulconbridge Point, at the end of Grose Rd in Faulconbridge (natch), and back - a total of about 22 km, so my own little half-marathon-plus. ;-) Today I didn't do that, but I did do my longest no-walking run. Well ... no walking except to take this photo, and a couple of tractor/earth-moving-machine-things. I was pleased at my pace as well: averaging 5:25 for the 11km, despite some fairly good-going hills (again, apologies to blip's fell runners, who would regard my run as almost completely flat, with only 118 m elevation gain). xP

I also will dispense a tip. A running tip. One that came to me this morning - thankfully without too object a lesson: when running on wet asphalt on a steep decline do not even think about trying to slow down. ;-) When I was trying to moderate my speed (aka slow the hell down), my feet were threatening to lose grip sideways, which would have resulted in major gravel rash. So I just went with it; faster and faster I went with it (letting gravity make me its bitch). ;-) Cue much less slippage. - And my fastest pace for the run. ;-)

I took this at my turn-around point, and is un-modified from the iPhone. I did try a smidge of a soft light layer, but it lost some of the ethereal misty quality that mrs tsuken and I like about it. Large view is large. And noisy.

After breakfast I headed down to Kmart for a most successful shopping trip: Secret Window and Bladerunner on Blu-ray (for just $8 and $16 respectively); cool "monster" laundry baskets for the kids; some three-drawer storage jobbys for their toys; and ... to put away for some later present time ... Woody and Jessie. Not as good as the ones missy lost, but a little bigger. We. Are. Soft. (But not soft enough to let her have them now, or to know that we have them.)

Then, kids at the pool: both did really well. I was particularly struck by Miss 7's dive: I've never seen her dive so smoothly, so far, so confidently ... She looked like Superman or something.

Home, pizza for lunch, reading more of Game of Thrones (and still loving it), and photographed a crimson rosella in the garden. Today makes it twice this bird's been pipped at the blipping post. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.