MADE WITH LOVE - PINKTOBER 23

Well, at last, here is the great reveal - much like people reveal the gender of their "soon-to-be-born" baby, here is the project I have been working on for a couple of weeks now - and at least it didn't take me nine months! 

I’m sure most of you - at least in the UK - or those who came from here originally, will know the nursery rhyme this depicts and it is made for a special little boy - the grandson of a dear Blip friend, Brambleblossom - who is known in their family as LBB - Little Boy Blue.

The book of knitted nursery rhymes was given to me by a friend several years ago, but I had never tried any of them - so when I saw that Little Boy Blue was one of the rhymes, it appealed to me and I decided to try and knit the set for Arthur so went into town a couple of weeks ago and bought the wool. 

The knitting part went very well and before long the various parts were made and stacked up, ready to be sewn together, but that was the easy part.  It was much harder to sew them together and then stuff them - and even harder to get the cow and sheep to stand on their legs, so I had to make some adjustments and rearrangements, but you know I am good at doing that!  

I am reasonably happy with them now;  it has certainly been a labour of love and I hope that Little Boy Blue will enjoy playing with them - however, I don’t think I will be attempting any of the other nursery rhymes - I will stick to dishcloths!

These will be posted off tomorrow and hopefully will arrive at their destination in one piece.  I do need to find something else to knit because we now have Netflix, courtesy of our younger son, and are hooked on The Crown, so we tend to watch a couple of episodes each evening to try and catch up, before the new series starts in November, so rather than just sit and watch and I like to sit and knit - ah well, looks as if the Christmas presents this year might be dishcloths.

While I was typing, we had some workmen here to finish off replacing the glass in our conservatory - the job was started three weeks ago, but the glass that came was the wrong size.  Today it did not go well - one large piece of glass was broken when it was being put onto the van, then one of the lads discovered that the replacement piece was the wrong spec - so another piece will have to be made and they will have to come back yet again.  The blind that was fitted to the window caused them a lot of problems and I think if I hadn't been taking photographs in the conservatory, the air might have been blue (!) but we handled all the issues very good-naturedly - mistakes happen and in the scheme of things, and what’s happening in the world, this morning’s woes were nothing

Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay can have a free one mammogram.  Thank you.

I decided on two quotes today because I liked them both and couldn’t choose!

“When choosing a pattern, 
     look for ones that have words 
          such as "simple", "basic", and "easy". 
If you see the words 
     "intriguing", "challenging", or "intricate", 
          look elsewhere.”
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee :
At Knit's End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much

“Knitting is the perfect metaphor for life; 
     you might spend months knitting something, 
          but you could probably unravel 
               the whole thing in less than an hour.” 
Gabbo De La Parra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.