To catch a rat!

Reg never misses the scent of a rat! Unfortunately they come around after the birds have left the feeding posts for the evening, to clear up the debris. During the day the pheasants clear up what the little birds drop so nothing else gets a look in! The rats don't hang around once Reg is out there! The can run but they can't hide, he's a great ratter! Natural instinct for most Borders I think!
My day was spent mostly sewing. I've set up my little production line for Luna and have three on the go, extra photo. I feel it's working well and I'm sure I am progressing faster than one individual at a time. These three when complete will be sent to my the grandchildren. I want to get them into the post well before the Christmas rush starts. My thought is that so many more people will be posting this year, unable to meet with family and friends, and I would be so upset if they didn't reach their destinations on time. 
Reg and I went for a short Autumnal walk round the village this afternoon, which was very pretty with its Autumn colours, and we avoided any rain, a definite bonus. 
Mum was a bit brighter when we chatted on the phone at teatime. She was very down yesterday and I do worry about her having to spend so much time alone. Everybody is doing their best but it is so limiting at the moment. The greyness outside doesn't help, nor the now much longer evenings in the dark. She has a good network of people willing to help with anything she needs, something we all think she is entitled to, living on her own at almost 91, but she's dreadful at asking!! No matter how many times we tell her! I guess that's where I get my 'independence' trait from!
With the matinée jacket sent and received, I'm now knitting a hat to keep my fingers busy in the evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.