Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Buying a house Vs buying a home

Was asked by my brother Darren to go and view a house that he and his partner Pauline are considering buying. It is a new build and the list price is eye watering although they have managed to negotiate a deal on the price and part exchange for their current property that they are comfortable with.

This is a picture of the lounge of the show house. There's of course will be unfurninshed.

The house was very nice, but I personally was not overly keen on its location, surroundings or outlook, but how do you say so without seeming to be p*****g on someone elses parade? In the end, I simply expressed my concerns and I think they both understood where I was coming from - and so we get to the title of this blip. I think they had lost sight of the fact that they are looking to buy a home, not just a house. As a consequence, they hadn't looked beyond the bricks and mortar. They were tempted by what looked like a bargain, but if it turns out not to be a happy home, is it really a bargain?

They need to make a decision as to whether or not to proceed tomorrow. There is no right or wrong decision, they can only make a decision that feels right to them. I wish them luck whichever route they choose to take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.