Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

BC Survivor

YAY! It's the last day of October and as always, either on the 30th or the 31st, I post a picture of a breast cancer survivor. As I live with one, it is usually G - my flatmate and partner in crime!!

This year has certainly been different. G hasn't seen her oncologist for a check-up at all and she is FINE. She is, er, in better condition than me. (I'm not feeling very good at the moment with gout and associated pain). She is still working and loving it. She loves life and still has great plans and ideas of things she wants to do. There's certainly a lot of motivation, though these days, energy might be in shorter supply than normal.

She has recently been picked to be part of a "dream team" for an international Ideathon competition. The brief of her team is to come up with an idea that works in the city where she lives but is also transferable to other countries. She's been attending weekly meetings to put a presentation together. Today, her and Patrick, via the wonderful medium of Zoom, designed a few logos to represent the concept. Cool stuff. They are competing against four other teams from the Philippines, Nepal and India and one other country I keep forgetting the name of.

These pictures were shot on location in my room!! I wanted to go out but there are too many things that need to be done here, so we caught the afternoon light coming through the window. I have to say, I'm not sure I could sit for a photoshoot like this.

It's the last time to ask if you could please click on this link to help towards cancer research, care and free mammograms. Statistics show that if detected early, breast cancer has the best survival rate, and G can really vouch for that. It's been eight years now. :))  Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.