Indestructible Denby

This is the pattern on a Denby stoneware bowl which I've had for 40+ years. It's a tough as old boots and is still in use on a probably weekly basis. It was a wedding present from friends who had an entire dinner service in this pattern. Including coffee cups and saucers. I thought it was the bees knees at the time and, although I love the bowl, I think the whole array would be a bit too busy for today's tastes. The old bowl was on the table last night - full of apple crumble. It caught my eye when I was putting it away this morning.

It was an early start for me. A bit silly but sometimes you just know you're not going to doze off and stealing a march on the day is the better option.

It's a damp and rather miserable looking morning but I'm going out for an early walk before I settle down to a list of other tasks. None onerous, some downright enjoyable.

Thinking so much about friends, including blip friends, in the US today. Wouldn't it be great to feel that 2020 has turned a corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.