Yaffle

This Green Woodpecker visited my garden this morning. It was two mins before I was due on a Houseparty call with 2 sisters, so I quickly got my camera and snatched a few ok photos. Then in the next hour on the call I could often see it parading up and down my garden and seemingly posing for the camera - how annoying! If I hear one I usually refer to it as Professor Yaffle from Bagpuss, but in confirming that Yaffle is a folk name for it, I came across another one - 'nicker pecker'!

Day 233 / Day 21 of The 3 Tiers (for my record only)
UK deaths up 397 to 47,250 (revised basis), with 20,018 new cases, 11,458 patients in hospital and 1,075 in ventilator beds (technical issues receiving the no's for Eng - again!). Daily deaths are the highest since the end of May, but new cases might be stabilising. The ONS reports 978 deaths in E&W in the w/e 23/10 with Covid mentioned on the death certificate, with deaths for Covid doubling every fortnight. Sweden has introduced some new restrictions after a spike in cases. There is still some confusion as to whether Scotland would get the same level as furlough support as available in the UK to 2nd Dec if it needed to go into lockdown afterwards, although the PM has said 'of course' economic support would be provided. As a pilot scheme, the whole population of Liverpool (the first into Tier 3) is to be offered regular coronavirus testing by NHS staff supported by the armed forces. This testing includes the new lateral flow tests with results within the hour and will hopefully identify asymptomatic spreaders too for self isolation. A £45m contract for NHS masks has collapsed after alleged fraud by ultimate supplier. Evidently the procurement of PPI is thought the be riddled with example of paying too much and even buying too much PPI that can't be used before it's use by date.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.