Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Waiting...

I feel like I've been holding my breath for days, waiting...  Although I rationally knew that getting an election result yesterday was unlikely and unrealistic, I still stayed up late into the night, watching the returns, hopeful.  When I finally turned the light out, I was feeling so discouraged and it felt as if I was reliving the 2016 election all over again.  Today things are looking slightly different - there is a clear, if narrow, path to the presidency for Joe Biden.  Of course, there is also a path to re-election for the other one and nothing is decided yet.  But I can hold out some hope, and I am doing just that.  And waiting.  Like this little goldfinch - cautious and waiting.

I should say that I know that those who support the other one are also feeling many of the same things I am feeling.  However this election turns out, nearly half of the people in this country are going to feel deeply disappointed, many will be angry, some will feel hopeless.  I wish it was within my power to heal this great divide our nation is experiencing.  But what I know is that one side will "win" and the other will not.  And we must go forward from that point.  And I hope that we can do it with grace, dignity, and compassion.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.