Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A cold and foggy morning

Today our four week lockdown started. It was quite a different morning from that of yesterday, we had a thick fog that lasted until about midday. I was up early as I wanted to take Xena to the woods a bit earlier than usual - it was very foggy and cold, and in this scene you can hardly see the person walking along the path. An extra of Xena.

Later I went grocery shopping, I was expecting it to be busy with long queues but it was so quiet with no queues at all, very different from the first few weeks of our last lockdown. I suppose people have realised that this lockdown is no where near as strict as our original one. An electrician came to the house today to fix a circuit that had gone, and he said last lockdown he was furloughed but this lockdown the company has so much work he is very busy. Construction and trades people are still permitted to work under this lockdown. Its the leisure industry, travel industry and the arts that I feel so sorry for.

I find the US election system so peculiar, I think the method of the news media calling the vote when it is not yet fully counted unnecessarily stressful for the candidates, as often the result can be flipped. Elections really do bring out the worst in people, Trump's behaviour has been appalling. However, I really should not criticise another electoral system and government when our own electoral system has some strange idiosyncrasies, and as for our politicians....

Lately, with all the autumn colours and weather conditions I am taking over 100 photos a day so I do find it tricky to choose one for blip. Plus all the editing means I am spending far too long in front of the computer every day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.