Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RHS Wisley

Today has been a beautiful day, sunny with blue skies. I met up with two friends at RHS Wisley, and we had a lovely walk around the gardens in the sunshine, followed by a take away coffee which we enjoyed outside. It was the perfect day to do it. These gardens are remaining open throughout our second lockdown, as they 'offer a vital safe sanctuary to the public for their mental and physical health during these times',and have been recognised as such by the government. The gardens of the National Trust properties are also remaining open. This image is of the laboratory at Wisley overlooking the canal with it's reflections.

We of course discussed the US election - none of us were surprised at Trump's behaviour, and perhaps by tomorrow we will have a clearer idea of who will win. However even if Biden does win it looks like he will have a hard time trying to change anything. 

After lunch I took Xena back to the woods for another walk, and I enjoyed taking some photos in sunshine. Our camera group homework was to shoot one subject with a prime lens on manual settings, in various ways, so I had a bit of fun doing that with my 35mm lens.

From 1 minute past midnight tonight, or rather tomorrow morning, we enter our second lockdown. It is not a very strict lockdown, we can still meet one other person outdoors which is good. Restaurants, pubs and cafes will all close but are able to serve take away foods. I wonder if any of this will have the desired effect by 2 December when the lockdown supposedly expires. 

I have been very busy with editing photos for competitions and sorting photo folders - I am also trying to prepare a presentation for our camera group on Antarctica so I am working on images for that. I must now go put the supper on - Luke has moved home for the lockdown and so meals are a bit more hearty than what Gavin and I usually eat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.