Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Contrails

It was a 'proper' winter morning today with lots of frost - sunny, bright and crisp. Gavin joined me on my walk with Xena this morning as he had a gap between his (zoom) meetings. There were so many vapour trails (or condensation trails) in the sky, I remember how during the first lockdown we never saw this as there were so few planes flying.

After our walk we went for coffee to our favourite local coffee shop, we haven't been there for ages and it was good to have their excellent coffee again. Gavin returned to work while I went grocery shopping. As expected after the pandemic, the cost of so many things has risen sharply. Usually at this time of year as we approach Christmas the UK supermarkets have specials on champagne and we usually take the opportunity to get some at these reduced prices - however champagne remains very expensive and there is also a shortage of it, the shelves having many gaps with certain brands absent. First world problems I know, but it is one of many things that have noticeably risen in price without the usual good offers for Christmas. The price increases can be seen in all foodstuffs and also in restaurants, and the irregular supplies seem to continue.

A quiet night at home tonight, and I am making a seafood risotto for dinner. It is something we never eat in a restaurant as I (rather arrogant, I know) don't believe they make it as well as I do as no chef in a busy restaurant kitchen is going to stand at the cooker constantly stirring the rice for half an hour as I do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.