Autumn jobs

I slept a bit better last night, not waking until just before 8.

Managed to fill the day at home with some cleaning jobs, and clearing up the leaves in the garden, filling the green bin. I had a visit first thing from a local mechanic, who said he thought he knew what the problem was with my car, and said he would return. At 4pm he eventually returned, but true to his word, sorted it. A piece of the wheel arch lining had somehow torn off and got caught up inside the brakes. I cant imagine how, but anyway, he sorted it out and I was very grateful.

At lunchtime I sat with dad while he had his meal replacement milkshake. I chatted to him while looking through a photo album which contained photos of dad when he was in Egypt in the army in 1948 doing his National Service. I showed him a photo of himself in November 1948 aged 18, just before his 19th birthday. He properly smiled for the first time in a long time and looked at it for a long while. I've added an extra, if you zoom in you might be able to see it. Then there were some photos and postcards sent back by his father Alan Howard in 1918 when he was in the army of occupation in Germany after world war 1. Sadly we have had no luck tracing our grandfather's army records, but we do have photos of the barracks in Wahn, a prisoner of war camp, which is where he was stationed. I don't think he was part of the group there to release the prisoners from the camp, but as he only turned 18 in February 1918, he escaped active fighting. I showed dad the photos as we tried to identify which one was his dad. I pencilled on the back. Some were fading, they are so old.

Now I'm heading over to Manda's for a shower- socially distanced of course. I expect it is against the rules, but I dare someone to drag me out...that might be quite scary for the neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.