Goodbye to Northumberland

Last night, we left the Edinburgh region, at about 11 and as we drove alongside the open sea, I was able to press my face to the window, to see if I could see the northern lights. We had been told they might be visible. I had done some research during the day, so had lessened my expectations, and was pleased to be able to clearly see a hazy greeny yellow on the horizon. As we were heading back on the A1 Jon wasn't able to view it, but when we got to Bamburgh we stopped. The same green haze was still visible that much further south, but slightly less so. It was nothing those the bright lights that had been in photos on Facebook, and my phone was not able to pick up anything, but it was good to see it.

We fell into bed at 12.30 and slept until 7.30. Then it was tidying, packing our bags and we were away heading home just before 9.

We stopped at 10.30 for a coffee break, then again at about 2 for lunch - a picnic of left overs in a layby in Lincolnshire - consisting of cold peshwari naan, crab sticks, sliced chicken and un untoasted teacake, the dregs of a tub of coleslaw and a twirl. I do find it satisfying using things up!

Back on the road, we were home just after 4.

The car has been unpacked, and now I'm just looking forward to my bed. I'm not going to be long! Holidays are great but it is always nice to come home and sleep in your own bed.

Photo I took as we drove past the angel of the North and I hung out of the window, looking backwards. I took lots, and cropped this as the best of a bad lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.