The team (minus me!)

Jon and I were up and working on the tree at 8am. The weather was threatening rain, so we were keen to get on. I watched, took photos, took videos and made coffee! Jon did all the hard work. Just seeing him work up the tree so skillfully made me fall in love with him all over again. I'm sure I've mentioned before that he was actually up a tree in the Isle of Wight, in 1982, when I first 'noticed' him! (Sorry kids if I'm embarrassing you!) He was only 17 then. Now, at 57 I am still so proud of him. I dragged the branches into a pile as he cut them down.

Henry appeared at about 8.30 and helped me drag branches into a pile. Then Dan arrived a bit after 9...he woke a bit late, but it wasn't a problem. We had coffee, and biscuits and Jon explained what the boys jobs would be. Then he went back up the tree until midday systematically dismantling the tree. Daniel was on the chipper, and Henry was untying the lowered branches. I was in and out, mostly taking photos.

Another break for coffee at gone 12 then lunch at 2.30. The main tree was down, and we spent the afternoon, taking limbs off the other trees at the back, to open up the view to the field behind. I did some serious pruning to some very leggy roses. I've been itching to get my hands on them. There is still a lot to do to make it properly tidy, but the skip is full so we had to stop. The brown bin will be filled every fortnight now, for several months to remove the small stuff, plus we have an enormous pile of logs to season for our fire.

So proud of my boys....and I did my bit. Feel quite shattered.

Mollie worked today, so it was dark when she got home. She will see the result tomorrow. The 3 of them are heading out to a firework display tonight. So I cooked dinner for 2 and now a well earned rest. I suspect Jon may be asleep by 9!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.