A walk down memory lane

Quite a lot of lanes, or roads. Hoddesdon is no longer the quaint market town which drew mum and dad to it, from Barnet, in 1963. Back then, they were moving to the country from outer London, but it feels like London is creeping out to meet us these days. I took my self out for a long walk at about 3.30, heading up the town, roughly using the route I used to take to school. There are lots of changes, but also so much that hasn't changed at all. It is just so much busier. Traffic and parked cars. Then there is the whole Tower Precinct which doesn't exist anymore, and instead, beneath Tower Heights, and behind it, is a huge branch of Morrisons. My photo is 3 distinct Hoddesdon landmarks, the war memorial, the clock tower and behind that Tower Heights. Jenny and Jim had their first home in the tower, I think they were council flats. And once when Jon was between proper jobs, he took work on the tower. I don't remember what he did - painting the outside or something. But I remember seeing him once when I was walking home from school - high up on a scaffold or hanging platform. After that I continued to walk that way home, hoping to get a glimpse of him. I think I was about 16. He was one of the older ones at Venture Scouts, and I don't think I had ever actually spoken to him at that time...but he was friends with my then boyfriend, and I supposed he had something about him that I had noticed!

We are all feeling tired today. Not a great night, so hopeful that tonight will be better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.