Remembrance Day

I joined my friend Lynn at the memorial in Hoddesdon town centre, at just before 11, to pay our respects to those who sacrificed their lives in the 2 world wars and any subsequent conflicts. No big parades - something I always took part in, back the 80s with Lynn as part of 1st Hoddesdon Guides. But there was a number of officials and members of the public, gathered but not crowded. The worst part was the traffic still coming through continuously.

From there, Lynn and I walked to Barclay Park and took a nice long walk back over the fields and under the A10, where we met quite a lot of people doing the same. We turned right on a thin track which took us up to Lord Street, and then walked back down, and into the top of Barclay Park and back to our cars. Needless to say, we chatted non stop on our 90 minute walk. It was lovely. It has been well over a year since I saw Lynn, and that was at our party. So we agreed we must meet again for some quality time together once the pandemic is under control. A weekend in Norfolk sounds like a good plan.

I was home just before 1, and after doing something for dad for lunch, and had eaten a sandwich, I found myself dropping off sitting on the sofa. So I went upstairs and dozed on the bed all afternoon.

Mum prepared dinner, and Manda came over and did dad his soup. Another old friend Andy dropped by to drop off an office chair for me to use while I'm here. I am so grateful to his sister Cathy for coming to my rescue with it, and to Andy for delivering it. I have been so touched by how all my friends from so long ago, have rallied round to help me. I appreciate them all the more, and know we are not alone. The Guide and Scout movement was such an important part of my life as a teenager, and this proves lifelong friendships were made. I feel blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.