Christmas Cake

Today’s picture is of the Christmas cake that I baked today. There are two extras, one of the preparation and one just before it went into the oven. This year I used a different recipe, a Mary Berry one from her Christmas Book. One thing I like with Mary’s books is that they are fairly simple recipes and she generally uses ingredients, which are already in my store cupboard. The end product usually turns out okay and looks something like her picture.
 
I made some adaptions using gluten free flour so that it is suitable for my grandson and me, although it may all have been eaten before he is allowed to visit! I left out the nuts and added extra cherries. Although the recipe did not specify the size of eggs, mine were small and the mixture seemed a little dry so I added another small egg before adding the fruit. It took exactly four hours to cook.
 
I always photocopy recipes for use in the kitchen, the recipe can be seen in one of the extra pictures; I cannot bear my cookery books to get messy and sticky. That also allows me to write down anything I did differently for next time.
 
Other than cooking chicken portions and vegetables in the slow cooker to freeze and cooking lunch I have done little else.
 
The temperature today was fourteen degrees Celsius at GMT noon.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.