Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Collared Peccaries

I was walking to my car on my way out of the lab (blood draw) when I saw a man with his phone out at the bank not too far from me. Always curious, I wondered what he was taking pictures of. It was a herd of javalina (hav-uh-leé-na). There were twice as many as you see here and about 8 tiny babies - so cute! I have never seen them during the day and I probably got closer to them than I should have. The man wasn't going to move any closer.  But I needed them for a blip and didn't want them to show up as specks.  Here's a short Fact Sheet from the Desert Museum about them.

We had some rain last night which brought out a variety of critters. I'm not sure how much fell but it was still spitting at me a little when I left this morning. Later, the sun came out, the air was fresh and despite the 50°/10° temperature, it felt great. After a freeze tonight, the temps will gradually move back into the eighties.

Still waiting to hear from BC on unlocking my 7 Nov blip so I can post a replacement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.