My mum’s button hooks

My mum and dad didn’t have a lot of money to spare when I was growing up but mum became an Avon rep in the seventies and spent a little of her earnings on collecting button hooks and thimbles. Both collections have passed to me and I’ve been very lax at finding somewhere to display them.

The blip is just some of the button hooks which normally sit in a coronation mug for King George VI and Queen Elizabeth (the current queen’s mother).

For those that don’t know, button hooks were used to help ladies do up buttons on their boots back in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Today has been mixed - early start as the puppy was sick 3 times this morning. He was a bit sleepier all day and we cut back his meals but I suspect he bolted his breakfast too quickly as he’s been eating ok and drinking plenty of water. He’s enjoyed his walks and especially the rotten banana he found in the grass - I wasn’t quite quick enough to grab it out of his mouth. other than that I’ve most made a few more crochet squares - only 40 more to go before I can start joining it all together!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.