Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lockdown 2.6 - My Swan Friend

After doing some work at my desk this morning I spent some of the afternoon in my garden - planting up a few winter pansies and then reading a chapter of my book with a cup of tea to keep me warm. I realised that now there is NO direct sun in my garden - it’s low enough to be hidden by the trees. Maybe once the leaves are all down it will make a difference. I should have gone to the lake earlier and taken my small chair and a flask of tea.

I did make it to the lake before it got dark. I walked a bit and also sat on my favourite log and enjoyed the view. I was in the same spot as I was when I had my foggy lunch a few days ago. This swan made a beeline for me, which it often does, but without its family this time. Usually they take a look (do you have food?  No!) and then carry on feeding from the bottom of the lake. This time, however, the swan just sat there, almost like it wanted to just keep me company. Then about 10 minutes later it paddled away. An enjoyable visit!

I enjoyed a special one-off episode from one of my favourite TV programmes this evening - Our Yorkshire Farm. On channel 5. Watch it if you can. All the previous episodes are there as well. Also - I discovered that the new All Creatures Great And Small episodes are still available after originally saying they would expire a few days ago. All these Yorkshire themed programmes make me want to go back there! I had a very enjoyable few days there in September.  Blips here and the next 3 entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.