Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Wark surgery

We are not superstitious in our household, but Friday 13th has had its challenges!

Rant starts, so ignore if you are not strong!
I started the day with a phone call to the GP surgery to ask for a phone consultation because Mum probably has a urine infection. I was put on the list. Unfortunately, when the GP rang, I did not hear the phone. I can only think that my mobile rang at the same time as the land line. When I realised, I called again and was put at the bottom of the list for phone calls.

By 12 there was no call. I was told that I was third in the queue. 

By 1 there was no call. The GP had gone out to do home visits.

Our surgery is closed to most people, so I had to take the sample to Wark. The prescriptions are issued there. I took the sample. The receptionist tried to contact the GP but no luck.

I went for a walk by the river. I was phoned to say that a prescription had been issued but they did not have the medication. What point was there is prescribing something that was not available? The script would be sent electronically to a pharmacy in Haydon Bridge.

Still no call from GP.

Later, I checked the medication because it was not something I recognised. Mum did. She was given in last year and had the most horrendous diarrhoea. She does not want that again. 

The day has ended with no call and with me feeling frustrated and angry. If only I still had a prescription pad, although, on principle, I don't think I should prescribe for family.

When I started to walk the rain started too. Thankfully it was short lived and I was rewarded with a brief rainbow, see extra. I was able to cross to Gold Island because the river was very low. The walk was a bit rougher than previously and I know about it. Ho hum. Poor Arth.

I bought meat in the Wark butcher's shop.The chap ahead of me kept thinking of more and more things to buy......

We looked forward to Channel Four news tonight and did not watch BBC, only to find that there was rugby on 4.

I've found today very frustrating and I stomped around the walk, aiming to get rid of the negative thoughts. It partially worked.

Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.