The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The River Frome at Capel's Mill, Stroud

I love living in a town where you can be so close to nature, just five minutes' walk from a busy main road and supermarket.

Friend J and I met at Waitrose, shopped, then had a socially distanced picnic in the car park (there is a picnic bench) then walked over to Capel's Mill, which is more of a beauty spot than a working mill. Took the path to the right of the river, which is a designated nature reserve. The going was tough-muddy. We did not see any kingfishers, but didn't hang around long enough. Arriving at the edge of Stroud, we walked up the town for some essential.shopping and to admire the Christmas lights in the Merrywalks/Five Valleys centre. Then back up the high street to home.

I am amazed to see that that the "Christmas entertaining food to order" brochure I picked up is still banking on some of us having large Christmas gatherings of up to 20 people. I think if we are having parties, we will need drones to drop the canapes to the distant guests. Zoom gatherings night just be more convivial than sitting in a room the size of a barn, with the windows open, being served pigs in blankets by a robo-butler.

Friday's blip seems to have disappeared without trace (my phone battery was down to 1% when I posted it), Thursday's is still in the bag, and Saturday was one big washout. Who needs to see raindrops? So I have some catching up to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.