Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was such a great ride that I had to make two collages today.  I haven't ridden in this canyon for several years and I forgot how beautiful it is.  It was a fabulous 35 mile ride!   

Main collage
Top row:       The South Saint Vrain Canyon ends up in Estes Park, the town at the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.  
                       The road through the canyon is very rocky on both sides.
                       An elusive Belted Kingfisher.  I heard it fly over and watched where it landed, really far away.  Not the best clarity but I'm always happy to get a shot of one.

Middle:         These horses were very interested in something tasty along the edges of the stream.
                      Perfect reflections, no wind today!
                      White-tailed deer, all looking at me :-)

Bottom:        Red-tailed Hawk
                      Do you see the lion?  I spotted it as I was riding back down the canyon.  The rock formations are really amazing.
                      Another shot on the way down.  The canyon is in the National Forest.

Extra collage
Top row:        Saint Vrain River
                       Steller's Jay
                       Sign on a dog house in someone's yard.

Middle:          A bee farm.  There were at least fifty hives behind the happy bear.
                       Hanging Christmas lights on the town tree in Lyons, at the mouth of the canyon.  I loved that a woman was doing the job and two men were working on the ground. :-)
                       Cactus???  Strange thing to see in the mountains.

Bottom:        I stopped to check out a trail (which was closed anyway) and found this sign. :(
                      Tree carving
                      Hollowed out rock with "basin".  Made me wonder how it happened...

I am grateful to Ryan at NuLife Cycles for adjusting my brakes for me before the ride.  I learned how to do it myself and it's really simple but I'm afraid to mess with my brakes.  Better to leave it to a professional!


                     

                      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.