Capital adventures

By marchmont

InIn the batik

I made 2 discoveries today and in the process solved a 'mystery'.  Willow's cat flap is on a timer so I was surprised after my swim (much quieter today, less super speedy splashers) to see she had lost her collar.  How could that be?  She hadn't been out - well perhaps in the window between 8.30 and 10 but she'd been in the kitchen when I left and was there when I returned.

Most of the rest of the day she spent either cooried up in the back room amongst the batik or asleep on the chair.  Seemed there was very little interest in going out.

After some dilatory chores (the laundry, emptying the dishwasher, putting out the recycling)  I spent most of the day restfully finishing a cross stitch.  I only have one small one left to do and then what? Had a video call with #2 son around lunchtime.  He was on his way back from Mercato.  He's got into gardening - showed me all the plants in his apartment and on the balcony as well as as the still unopened bottle of the Bombay Sapphire the pub quiz team (Boy, Jess, Jordan and #2 son) won at the weekend.  Being kept for a rendezvous on Sunday. 

Elsewhere the vaccine news continues to excite and after 'Only Connect' I watched a really good TF1 documentary, shown as part of the Storyville series, on how the firefighters saved Notre Dame. I found my French was almost up to it (all that investment in French flic dramas may be paying off).  There was some amazing footage of the fire in full flow.  They so very nearly lost it.  Also interesting how the French use military titles even for sapeurs-pompiers. There were many generals there that night. 

It was 11 by this time, 'time for bed' as the Magic Roundabout would say.  That was when the second discovery was made and the mystery solved.  Willow, now alert, darted out the cat flap.  It should have been locked but I think it may not have closed earlier when I removed the temporary opening rig.  And of course she would not come in.  At one point spent 15 minutes playing 'the cat sat on the mat' at the back door and giving herself a good clean but no amount of shaking the food bag and trail of treats would tempt her in.  Eventually I gave up.  I now know she is cat flap savvy and even collarless I'm sure she'll come home. 

F2F - 3
Phone call - 1
Virtual - 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.