Capital adventures

By marchmont

It's coming

Well of course Willow was waiting for me in the kitchen this morning, completely unrepentant. 

No swimming today.  It's Tuesday.  I had an appointment in a church. First time I've been in a church since - I can't remember when.  I went via Cameron Toll to pick up a click and collect package and top up Mum's cider supplies.

The appointment at MSG was to contribute a filmed reading to their advent calendar.  All went well, though I was only given the piece immediately before.  However, later a message came to say that a battery had failed so I will have to reprise on Friday.

It was a very warm, windy day.  Another day with no heating on till evening.  College Committee meeting this afternoon but I'm a member not the chair which made a lot easier. 

And then of course by 5 it was dark and another evening in. on my own. I've been looking back to remind myself of what life was life last November, pre-Covid.  Much the same things - College and ACOSVO meetings and choir, which are still happening but all virtual of course. And there were other things I can't do, SCD, French Film Festival.  Despite our relatively low numbers Edinburgh is staying on level 3.  To be fair it  makes little difference to me although a glass of wine at lunchtime would be nice and wouldn't threaten the the rule compliance, surely?  My friends in the west are now on level 4. 

The evenings merge.  I sewed and then discovered I'd miscounted a line last night so most of what I'd done then had to be unpicked.  With nothing on live tv I started to catch up on series I'd missed, Doctor Foster.  Gave up half way through episode 2.  Too close to home and I need something uplifting, not deprimant.  Switched to a film 'The Military Wives Choir'. Even that was affecting.  I was never a military wife but I was a 'military mum'.  I remember getting the blueys from #1 son when he was in Iraq and then Afghanistan and he carried out that role of being one of the 'men in suits' who delivered the bad news, always in pairs.

Finally, I recorded today's Madame Kalamazoo story for Olivia and Amelia.  At least the battery didn't run out on this reading. 

F2F - 6
Virtual - 1
Phone calls - 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.