#bookweekscotland

“I'm proud of the culture I come from - we're a small country and a close-knit community.” 
― Sara Sheridan

This is not a curated bookshelf, or part thereof. 

It is where I deposited the books I finished or used whilst we were under serious restrictions in the spring. One had been started before then. Another was picked up to try (unsuccessfully) to find a bit about the Chechens’ (unsuccessful) attempt to seek a peaceful end to the first war.

The allegation (Politkovskaya's, not mine) was that a significant amount ($10m, from memory) was paid by the Chechens into Yeltsin’s personal bank account as the “fee”. He didn’t give them talks, but kept the money. 

These days I try to use the library as much as I can and buy as little as possible.  

I have never read any of Sara's books, but she has the right idea. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.