An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Plaisirs de France...

This little fridge magnet bought on holiday in France many years ago is one example of worthless items we own that are priceless in terms of sentimental value.  I just have to glance at it as I open the fridge door and many happy memories of summers in France come to mind...the sunshine, the scenery, the people, the food, the wine, the joy of stress levels dropping at the prospect of two weeks free from work and home routine, and more than anything, Alan's face  as he enjoyed two glorious weeks with constant access to a heated swimming pool :-))  

Today the years of clinging to our fridge door finally took their toll and it fell off leaving the magnet attached to the fridge door and scattering the little paper bag and its tiny contents over the kitchen floor.  Thankfully I managed to gather everything up before a very interested Lola got to them! 

I know it's daft, but I am shocked at how much the demise of the little magnet upset me.  I didn't actually realise how fond I had become of it or how often I look at it and remember all those happy holidays.  

I have taped the bag up and reinstated its contents as best I can and will investigate a more permanent solution to fixing it tomorrow.  

In other news, I made two more Christmas presents today.  I really must get on with the paintings I've been asked to do by others but I thought a couple of days doing my own thing would re-energise me and it has.  

Almost bedtime.  To my surprise the earlier nights are suiting me.  I am sleeping better and feeling much better from getting up earlier too.  Hydrotherapy again tomorrow morning.  Getting into the new routine :-))

PS So the accusations of bullying against Priti Patel have been upheld by an independent enquiry into her behaviour at three government departments; the Home Office, Work and Pensions and International Development, and has concluded that the "home secretary had not met the requirements of the ministerial code to treat civil servants with consideration and respect" but no action will be taken as she didn't mean it.

Workplace bullies up and down the land have just pissed themselves laughing.  Great example set by the UK Govt once again. Utter disgrace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.