Ready as waiting

......and still waiting. Unfortunately I didn't get to the ballet skirts today as there were other more pressing jobs to be done! 
I drove to Stanhope to deposit the cheque, collect my prescription and buy yet more fire lighters! No matter what brand we buy they just perform their one job so badly most of the time!
I had planned on it being a quick trip there and back but was hijacked, in the nicest possible way, by two friends who I haven't seen to speak to for at least six months! We stood in the street, in the cold, for more than half an hour catching up! It was so lovely to catch up on their news. They, like us, moved to Upper Weardale from a busy town in the South. We wholeheartedly agreed it was the best move we've ever made and have never regretted it for a minute. Karen is a keen crafter also, loves anything fabric, and we're so looking forward to being able to meet at our weekly craft group, set up by her originally, to be able to chatter over a project or just listen to others chatter! Her  husband makes soup for us all to enjoy there and one of us makes bread. It was and will be again, a happy welcoming place to make friends. It is open to anyone, male and female. Karen is probably the youngest at under 50 and there is a lady who comes who is 95 with failing eyesight and another with dementia. Neither of them can craft now but they are part of the group nonetheless and enjoy what is going on around them. This is what we've missed from lockdown, not the curfew on shopping trips!
When I finally got home I set to making mum's birthday card to catch the 4pm post, which I did. I ordered what seems pretty mundane birthday gifts, but she has no need for anything much, so it was some of her favourite edible goodies which she can't get out to buy at the moment and I know she'll enjoy. 
A fairly brief walk with Reg as he made it obvious he didn't want to do too much hillwalking after his trek with Barry yesterday, although the fact we live at the top of a hill means there's little choice but to do some!
After that I prepped dinner and tried to get sorted in my head what I needed to do to complete the ballet skirts tomorrow. I knitted another little bolero and started another. I think I'm on track to finishing it all by Sunday. 
Then I can take a breath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.