More ups and downs

Woke feeling very tired. It was just one of those nights where you sleep very lightly so the slightest movement upstairs, and I was awake. I know mum was up a lot. Dad doesn't even remember waking up in the night at all, let along 4 or 5 times. We were also more worried as he had been very weak on his feet last night coming back from the toilet and needed us both to help him, so I was concerned that he might fall when he was doing his many night visits to the bathroom.

I woke at 7.30 and dozed for 10 minutes before getting up. No walk today, as I had a feeling I was going to feel shattered so hadn't contacted Isabel. Started work at 8.30. There were the usual carer visits 4 times and 3 from the nurse. Manda came over after she had finished work. The nurse had said they were looking for somewhere dad could go for respite. A few days they said. We started to prepare for that, and had expected another call, but it never came. So now we are expecting that to happen tomorrow. They have indicated that it will be a few days to get him over this infection, and give him full time care,and us a rest. After that we are not sure. All very difficult conversations, and decisions to make.

Tonight we are expecting a lady from Marie Curie to provide a night sitting service. She is due at 10. Hopefully we will get a good night sleep.

Ended the day quickly making 9 more xmas cards with the home made paper I made. In total I have now made 52. That isn't enough but I might start writing them soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.