Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Don't hate me because I do what I do

This is a Brown-headed Cowbird (molothrus ater) and it is a bird that is despised by many people. Which is unfair, in my humble opinion. People dislike this species because they are "parasitic nesters" meaning that they lay their eggs in the nests of other smaller species, allowing their young to be be hatched and raised, often to the exclusion of the smaller host species' fledglings. It's not particularly nice behavior, but this is the way the species survives. Not really any less pleasing than our beautiful hawks chowing down on songbirds. It is their nature - they can't help it and they don't do what they do to be obnoxious or with any ill intent.

So, take a moment to just appreciate the beauty of the bird - accept him for what he is. This would be excellent advice for many situations in life, come to think of it. But that's a rant for another day.

Actually, I think this may be the first of this species for the BlipBigYear challenge?

I'm having a bit of neck pain today - had PT this morning and the therapist spent extra time massaging the neck and shoulder, trying to work out the kinds. Helped a bit, but in general this may just be "one of those days."

And while I am whining ... I have got major spring fever!!! I want spring to get here SO MUCH! In fact, I couldn't stop myself from ordering some flower seeds from Amazong - zinnias, cardinal flowers, orange milkweed ... I can't wait!!! I am so antsy to work on my butterfly garden this spring. You may recall that hubs and I converted a small part of our lawn last fall for a butterfly garden. I planted some good native species as well as buddleia, a hybiscus, coneflowers and a few other nectar perennials. I plan to fill in with the annuals and if all goes well, I'll have continuous blooms all summer. And you know what that means, right??? Yes - bees, butterflies and hummingbirds!!!!!!!

Okay, I'm going to go need to get some tea and calm myself down now.

Back later...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.