A day in the life

By Shelling

Cheese

The woman, Marianne, who I sometimes help by making posters to the concerts she arranges, is also contributing to her pension by baking several kinds of sourdough bread. She was out of "whey", 'vassle' in swedish, that she uses when she is baking. One of her friends, who also bakes a lot, usually has whey for sale so my friend asked me if I could take her there to get some, which I did. It's only a short drive but she needed twenty litres of it so a car is necessary. While there I learned that her friend also bakes Småland cheesekake, "ostkaka" in swedish, not to mix with english cheesecake, which is something completely different. Our cheescake only exists in two parts of Sweden, here and in a county called Hälsingland in mid-Sweden.

Here's a quote from Wikipedia: "Ostkaka is traditionally produced by adding rennet to a warm milk and flour mixture and letting the casein coagulate. Cream, sugar, eggs, almonds and bitter almonds are added to create a batter. It's then baked in an oven and served warm - never hot, as this will nullify some  of its flavour." I like Ostkaka very much so I bought a few packages to try. Served with some kind of jam and maybe a dab of whipped cream is delicious! I promise.


After lunch my day has been taken up mostly by doing a lot of work on my computer, since I'm preparing myself for clearing out most of my working life from my shelves. Most of it can be thrown away but I want to make sure I got some of my personal work saved in my computer before I get rid of it. I always find it hard to throw away things that I have spent a lot of time producing but I need to learn that my needs today are very different.


My blip for today has nothing to do with any of the above. I made time for a walk in the late afternoon and got perked up by the lovely sky and the mild air. Hope you had a nice day too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.