AN EARLY MORNING WALK IN THE FOG

Pulling back the curtains early this morning, I saw the thick fog and decided that there might be some good photo opportunities on a walk around Coate Water, a local country park.  By the time Mr. HCB brought up my early morning cup of coffee, I was almost dressed, so told him my plans, thinking that he would be going out into the garden to potter around.  However, he said that if I was going to Coate Water then he was happy to come with me.

We made sure we were dressed for the weather, with scarves, hats, gloves and our strong walking boots and off we went.  On the way, I saw some beautiful cobwebs, so couldn’t resist stopping to take some shots and once again, marvelled at nature's beauty.  Mr. HCB is quite used to me now, so just meanders on and then I catch him up!  

I decided to make a collage using some of my shots, and just to show how well we were kitted out, I put the selfie I took in the middle - not one of my best, but it just proves we were out and about.  When we got to Coate Water, it was obvious that any photographs needed a subject in the foreground, as the fog really was thick - so I asked Mr. HCB to wander along a path so that I could take a shot of him and then when we walked back the other way, I persuaded him to stand near the edge of the lake, with the iconic diving board in the background.  

After we had been walking for about an hour, we were quite cold, so decided to come home and have a cup of coffee and a couple of small Danish pastries, cooked in my Remoska, which only took about 15 minutes, and which we thoroughly enjoyed - well there has to be some bonus to going out on a cold and foggy morning!  I forgot to put my Fitbit on this morning, so don’t know how many steps we did, not that it really matters - in my head I did 10,000!  We have just about thawed out now, but Mr. HCB won’t be going out into the garden today, as his hands are too painful - what a pair we are!

Things that brought me joy today:

Going out with Mr. HCB and enjoying his company whilst walking
Seeing nature’s jewels on the cobwebs
Coffee and Danish pastries after our walk

“Be thankful and joyful…
     be content with life…
          make the most of every situation.” 
Lailah Gifty Akita

P.S.  Many thanks for your kind comments for yesterday’s nature abstract - for which I am very grateful.

P.P.S.  Just thought you would like to see more information about that iconic diving board.  What the article doesn't mention is that the colour photograph is mine!!  I remember ringing the local paper and telling them that I didn't mind them using my photographs, but asked that they give me the credit.  The man got very snarky with me and told me that if was that bothered about it, they would stop using it and then put the phone down on me - so very rude - so I have never sent another photograph to our local paper since.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.