Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

A slip down the tunnel

A foul day yesterday.  I should have been walking with my friend Jan but the weather was looking so grim that we called it off.  I was awake early so already started the day tired, but started off in positive mood - lit the fire and tidied my admin pile of papers and made a `To do' list, ready to start ticking off a few more items .  I’d also read the review in The Guardian of the 20 best (fiction) books of the year and was reminded of how much I love Maggie O’Farrell.  To cut a longer story shorter I found `Hamnet’ in the Kindle Library (which I’ve got to work out how not to lose as it is in Ann’s account).  By the afternoon the story had definitely helped me slide down the tunnel of darkness (the story is actually not dark - it was just the way I was feeling).  Fortunately Debbie rang me and then I turned the television on where there were people again and I came through it.  So I cooked myself some food (extra) and then watched two episodes of Twin on BBC 4 catch up.  Recommended by Emma for the scenery (I’m not too sure about the plot).  First of all I thought Iceland, but then it reminded me of the Lofoten Islands, which indeed it was, though not the exact place where we had stayed.  I should have been going in February, but that’s something else that is `off’ due to the pandemic..

So what have I learnt?  I think how important it is for me to get out for a walk, even if its a short one.  

Article by Rachel Cooke in The Guardian this morning `I long to get out' >>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.