Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Upgrade

(29/11/20)

Saturday
So, this finally happened today! After thinking about it for months, and then taking action in October and the whole thing falling apart, we finally went ahead with the decision to upgrade the internet in the flat. I had known for ages that I should be on five times the speed for the amount I was paying, but as our telco regularly upgrades their networks, I was waiting for them to roll it out to everyone.

Long story short, the technician came. I'm sure it's one who has come before as he seemed to know exactly where things were and that I was capable of replacing the devices. First off was the wi-fi modem as seen in this picture. It is a sleek design and looks heaps better than the round black box that its replaced.

Next was the TV box which is also white and looks like an Apple TV box. No buttons on it, everything is accessed by the remote control, so we'll have to look after that! So far, so good. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the subscription to "Western" channels now includes the History Channel, and once everything was set, that's what G watched for the rest of the evening!

I hadn't intended to change the phone but as all the devices have gone from black to white, I figured - why not! So, not only has our landline number changed, so has the handset! All done! I have the feeling that I will not be looking back at this decision!

Prior to that, we had a very small but super group at OaSis and finished Max Lucado's study on You Are Never Alone. We did six sessions in three! There was enough time to have lunch between that and another Zoom call, this time with friends from my teenage years - to plan a Zoom Christmas party! And we are ready for a new week. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.