First Sunday in Advent.

At the moment I’m sitting on the settee eating my first mince pie of the season. They are not homemade but yummy all the same.
I put candles in the windowsill this afternoon for the Advent Livestream service from our church. Birmingham Vineyard at 3.30 pm.
We used to go to either Lichfield Cathedral or Birmingham Cathedral for their Advent services, but there are no “live” ones this year.
I miss that.
Before the service at Lichfield all the lights were extinguished until a lone chorister began to sing the Introit carrying a lighted candle.
The choir then processed round the building stopping at each different section, for a reading and choral piece, where more candles were lighted each time, until the very last section when they went into the Choir stalls.
It was so incredibly moving to watch as the beautiful soaring structure gradually increased in light.
There were congregational Advent carols in between.
I love to sing.
Singing on your own is ok during this time of restrictions, but singing with others, joining in harmony, is so uplifting and special.
That pleasure has been denied now for a time.
Livestream is a good way to keep connected to our various churches, but it just isn’t the same as actually being there and singing your heart out with others.
Anyway, with the candles flickering on the windowsill, in the hearth and on the mantelpiece, we joined our virtual service.
I had been for a shorter walk after our Sunday lunch arriving home for the appointed time.
Stephen had been out this morning delivering a sausage casserole and the 1000 piece jigsaw we had completed last week, to one of our friends. (Jigsaws have become very popular during the Lockdowns!)
Leaving them on the doorstep after messaging ahead.
I was making our Sunday lunch.
Shortly after the afternoon session ended the family unexpectedly rang us for a FaceTime session.
Always good to see them all.
Always frenetic as each of the 4 grandchildren like to have a say, which is lovely.
We were educated by Toby (4) showing us his model made by using Lego Ninjago figures (I know! Whatever next!)
Then Libby(8) showed us a “book” she has made which she is sending off the Blue Peter programme.
It’s on A4 pages in a see through folder. 10 pages.
Sammy (9) flitted in and out as he is usually doing his own thing. Loving to read or use his construction sets.
Then comes Bonnie. Now 20 months and beginning to use some words. She was showing us her ball which has pictures of animals on it. Then pointed to each one and made the sound like Quack, Woof, and so on.
So lovely to see her. They change so fast at that age.
It has been a very misty damp day once again.
I did enjoy my short walk all the same. There is a quietness in mistiness.
I have the St. John’s College Cambridge Chapel Choir’s Advent service from 2018, to listen to on BBC Sounds later.
What a treat to finish the day.
I listen on my mobile with my earphones.
When I cannot sleep the radio helps. And it doesn’t disturb hubby.
(He’s still in his “convalescent” room as I call it).
Back in our room at the end of this week. The white surgical socks were discarded this week. More progress!
Time for a cuppa.
(And I’ll just point out that all the candles are battery operated). Hope that doesn’t spoil the illusion! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.