An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Christmas has landed...

In Alan's sitting room anyway!  lol

This is just before Jordan started emptying the bags and boxes and getting the room decorated.  You should see it now, like a Christmas bomb has gone off.  Alan is delighted of course.

Whilst that was happening, we were in the living room getting our tree organised.  I say we...D was doing the leg work and I was sitting with my feet up sipping Baileys directing him on  lights and ornament placement; a VERY IMPORTANT job, and he was very grateful for my input.  

Later when I was preparing veg to roast to have with dinner I wondered if I could make extra and freeze them raw for over the festive period.  I googled and discovered it's better (and more convenient) to roast them and then freeze them.  They freeze for six months and to use just defrost overnight in the fridge, throw on a tray and re-heat in the oven for 20 mins.  Fab!

We now have 6 portions of carrots, parsnips, butternut squash and shallots with chopped rosemary beautifully roasted and frozen, ready to use over the festive period.  Result!  

I can't believe I am so organised on the one bliddy year we're not seeing anyone!  

Actually that's not strictly true.  Found out today that our friends T & V who live round the corner (Milly's mum and dad )will be on their own over Christmas.  Their grown up sons live down south and are not travelling up for the holidays.  Like us, T & V have not seen anyone since the new restrictions began so we feel safe enough to form a bubble to enjoy a socially distanced meal together at ours on the 27th.  

Milly will come as well but I cannot guarantee that there will be any social distancing between her and Lola!  

PS Note to self... ca' canny wi' the festive bottle of Baileys.  It's been opened and it's not yet December yet.  Remember it's got to last until......the next bottle!  ;-))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.