Catkins

Didn’t get myself organised very early today, so my morning of cooking and baking didn’t really get going.  No soup making – I am going to use up some soup from the freezer for lunches this week.  I did do some prep for a lasagne, and I baked later in the afternoon.
BB went off to his gardening volunteering.  The last session of the year.  I then went off to a real live in person yoga class and I really enjoyed it.  I so needed a good stretch.  The downside was I did something to my dodgy knee, but hopefully it will be ok.
I came home via the supermarket and did our weekly shop.  Once home, the boys commandeered the car to take BB to football.  I made my lunch, then headed out for a  wee walk to use my knee.  It was fine, though uncomfortable, but all in all I think the walk helped it.
I came home and dug out a jar of old mincemeat.   As it is the first Sunday in advent, I used it to make a Mary Berry recipe – a  mincemeat loaf.  My first nod to the festive season.  BB was horrified as he thought it was a cake with meat in it!
Later I watched a couple of episodes of Borgen.
It was such a  gloomy, grey and dark  day I didn’t take many pictures.  These are hazel catkins I think.  As we move into winter, they make me think of spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.