Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The last of the oak leaves

Today England came out of our second lockdown and we woke up to the brilliant news that the UK is the first country in the world to approve a vaccine, with inoculations starting next week. Of course it will be a long time before I get it as the plan is to inoculate in age and vulnerability order, and the reports only mention the stages up to over 50 years of age, so not sure when the 20 year olds ever get vaccinated? Hopefully we will all get it before next summer so we can go away on holiday with some assurance as to our safety and risk.

It has been one of those days that has run away with me and I have not done half of what I wanted to do. And now I look out the window and it is pitch black outside at 5pm and it is the end of the day without having achieved much!

It was very cold and dull today but I still had a good walk with Xena today in the woods. That is a good thing about having a dog, because if I did not have to take her for a walk I probably would have spent all day inside. But then I might have got all my chores done!

I started wrapping Christmas presents after my dog walk and managed to do one present before I was distracted by other things - British Airways have cancelled my flight to Iceland for February 2021, and so our trip is off (as we expected) but I had to phone BA to get a refund of my avios (frequent flyer) points which I used to pay for the flight, as it could not be done on their website, so that took ages. 

I also watched a webinar this afternoon organised through SheClicks on creative flower photography, which was excellent - but it was 2 hours long so that took all of my afternoon. The photographer gets such pin sharp back to front focus on her flowers and yet she does not use a tripod which is amazing when using a macro lens. She does use a cropped sensor camera which does make it easier than using a full frame camera. 

Now I must get back to present wrapping but there is ironing and dinner to be cooked....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.