Something a Little Different!

This morning I had a COVID-safe visit to my dentist for a cleaning. I was the only patient in sight and the hygienist was garbed in mask, face shield and gloves and well as bundled from head to toe in a protective garb. I felt totally safe and now have clean teeth! I was delighted to read of the vaccine schedule this morning - the US is now anticipating that by early next summer we'll be as vaccinated as possible. That's assuming that people will allow themselves to be vaccinated. 

I spent much of the afternoon with my parents. Dad had also had his teeth cleaned and I was shocked to see blood on his face and teeth when he took off his mask. They were obviously very aggressive with his cleaning, and didn't take the time to rinse out his mouth or wipe up the blood...at least as far as I could tell. Poor man. He even goes to a geriatric dentist. Mom doesn't go anymore - thank goodness she doesn't seem to have issues with her teeth.

When I was 6 and in first grade, my parents took me to Puerto Rico. My brother and sister must have been one and two and they were thinking that it would be nice to get away with me alone. Since I was taken out of school for a week, my teacher (who later became our family's honorary auntie...in fact we talked with her today!) asked that I write a journal of my time there. I dug it out of the archives this morning and brought it over to my parent's house. We had a lovely time talking about that trip...oh so many years ago. It was followed by a trip with said brother and sister when I was a very grown up 6th grader, and that trip was recorded in the same journal. So much fun. 

Then I managed to beat my mother by one point in our backgammon tournament, even though she had an insane number of doubles!  

I took my phone out to the garden when I got home since the light was fading and although I had a number of interesting shots, I really like the texture of these Lamb's Ears....and even better in mono! Something a little different! 

All told a very pleasant day and great to be away from my desk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.