Icing on the cake....so to speak

The family put up our new Christmas tree during the week, but I had requested that they let me put the fairy on the top. I did so this morning. She started out her life with me at a year old, where mum reminds me that on the walk home from Woolworths, I was allowed to hold her in the pram. Then dropped her in a puddle, so before she even got to the top her first Christmas tree in December 1966, she had lost her outer paper dress. So what we see are her petticoats. I've only ever known her this way! And I love her. My Woolworths 3/6 fairy. Almost as old as I am!

The lounge looks so pretty, decorated. I woke at 9ish and Mollie and I went to Lidl then Morrisons for the weekly shop. Back home for coffee with Jon. Thankfully we didn't get the snow that had fallen elsewhere, but Jon had ridden in to Norwich and said it started to snow while he was there. He was really cold coming home, so perhaps needs better gloves his hands were so cold.

I have made a long list of things I want to do this weekend, but realistically won't get it all done. In the afternoon,Mollie and I went in to Cromer to browse and pick up a few bits. I bought a boxed pair of brand new black leather ankle boots in the charity shop at a bargain price. As it got dark it was nice to see the Christmas lights in the high street. I failed to be inspired on presents for my nephews and brother in law, so will keep thinking tomorrow.

This evening we sat down to watch the much anticipated Netflix film 'Jingle Jangle' which was filmed on Elm Hill in Norwich. A really nice family film, and a few recognisable shots of that famous street. I've added an extra for those who know the area.

Then I'm a celebrity final, although I haven't been watching it.

Spoke to mum today. She has managed to speak to dad this morning, after jumping through many hospital hoops to do so. She said there will be a bill to pay when he discharged, but how can that be if she rang him?? He is confused about where he is, but is getting the antibiotics he needs. They will let him home only when they feel he is ready.

Tomorrow I want it to be dry so that I can sort out in the front garden. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.