Christmas Lights

Not ever so clear, but we have put a few icicle hanging lights above the window.

I couldn't sleep last night, and in the end got up and went downstairs taking my book and my onesie with me. There on the sofa I finished reading Lamentation- the 6th in the Shardlake series by C J Sansom. It has been a mission this year to read these books, with the whole point being to get to Tombland which at last I am going to start reading tonight. It was a year or perhaps more ago when I first saw Tombland in a book shop in Norwich. Now, I am pleased I read the other 6 books, although any one book could be read on it's own, they do build up the characters, so that you feel you know them. They have been with me all year, so I am going to miss them after this last book!

I took Jon a cup of tea at 8 and we got up and went in to Holt early. We bought a few small gifts for Christmas and had tea/coffee and cake in Byfords. They were very accommodating, and extended the life on a gift card that had expired during covid. We went home via Sheringham where I bought some new dress making scissors.

I was drizzly while we were out, but thankfully was dry by the afternoon, so I was able to make the wreath for my front door, and tidy up the remains of my tomato plants. Jon washed his motorbike and my car, and Henry washed his car, so it was quite a family gathering out the front today!

It soon got dark, and we were able to see our lights, but not so easy to photograph them. An indian takeaway treat for the 3 of us, with Mollie out tonight. Then we watched the first episode of The Crown series 4. Except I kept nodding off. So now I'm quickly blipping before bed.

Heard from mum and Manda who have been over to the hospital today to take some bits for dad. They do not allow visitors, which is all the more confusing for poor dad, but they were able to see him from the door and exchange a few words. In mum's words, it is heartbreaking. We don't know when he will be coming out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.