The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

More messing around with market stalls

Or at least, a tiny corner of it. The morning didn't start well. Nearly everyone who came in to the market either wanted the watchmender, who has moved to Yorkshire, or else was venturing out for the first time since the first lockdown and was surprised to see six stalls instead of twelve(it's been socially distanced since August, apart from November, when we were in lockdown 2.0). A couple wanted to by my little Christmas tree, which part of my fixtures and fittings. Perhaps I should have asked them for £375....

At 3pm we all  went home because we were frozen, and returned at 5pm. So different! The shoppers were out in force. Steve and I both had a good evening, and enjoyed meeting customers again. We left before 9pm, and we'll be back there by 9 am.tomorrow. I sold both Christmas jigsaws in the picture, at rock bottom prices because I haven't checked them;  and also a few advent calendars, even though it's 4th December already.

Customers reported that the town was bustling, in a socially distanced way. She said that it was great to see people to enjoying themselves, 'as if we'd just been released from prison'. Those who have studied the 1918 flu pandemic will no doubt remark on what happened after people went out en masse to celebrate the end of WWI. ...

I didn't get to see any of the other parts of town, because I was stuck behind my stall, but happily so. At long last, a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.